Looking to lead a stronger, healthier life?
Sign up for our Wellness Wire newsletter for all sorts of nutrition, fitness, and wellness wisdom.

Now we’re in this together.
Thanks for subscribing and having us along on your health and wellness journey.

See all Healthline's newsletters »

right lobe of liver

The liver is divided into two lobes by the middle hepatic vein: the right lobe of liver and the left lobe of liver. The right lobe of liver is larger than the left lobe of liver.

The right lobe liver has four sections. It is divided into the anterior right lobe and posterior right lobe by the right hepatic vein. It is also divided into the upper right lobe and lower right lobe by the portal vein.

Each of these sections contains branches of the hepatic veins, portal veins, hepatic arteries, and bile ducts. If one of these sections is damaged, the remaining sections of the right lobe of liver continue to work and the person usually doesn't have any negative effects. If the entire right lobe of liver is damaged or diseased, a liver transplant may be necessary.

Written and medically reviewed by the Healthline Editorial Team
Co-developed by:

In Depth: right lobe of liver

Debugging Tools

Level: 1
Frame: 1
Toggle Hotspot
VP Data Tool
HexTable json from Steve
Steve's ajax layer update call:
[still on original layer]

Ad values:

adModel.dfpAdSite: hn.us.hl.bm.x.x.x
adParams['k1']: otherliverdisorders,right_lobe_of_liver,8948026

More on BodyMaps

Take a Video Tour

Learn how to rotate, look inside and explore the human body. Take the tour

BodyMaps Feedback

How do you like BodyMaps? How can we improve it?